Skip to content

Jun Lin’s mother is starting to see through her anger – no reason everyone can’t!

July 27, 2012
YoungEric

There was an interesting article in the news yesterday after Jun Lin’s funeral:

MONTREAL—It’s a word the mother of dismembered Chinese student Jun Lin never thought she’d associate with the man charged with murdering her son in brutal fashion.

Sympathy.

Originally, sorrow and anger dominated Zhigui Du’s thoughts as she asked herself how such an appalling thing could happen to her son in a kind and peaceful country like Canada.

But as she laid her 33-year-old son to rest Thursday, Du said she has begun to feel sympathy on some level toward a man she calls the “devil.”

“Back then, I could only use ‘devil’ to describe the alleged murderer,” said Du, whose son’s gruesome murder captured worldwide attention.

“But later on, when I learned more about this suspect through different news sources, especially about his upbringing, I shockingly discovered my other self who has started to develop sympathy for this person described as ‘devil’.”

Du, who was too distraught to attend the funeral itself, made the remarks through an interpreter during a eulogy she gave at a later news conference.

Lin’s dismembered torso was found May 29 stuffed in a suitcase dumped outside a Montreal apartment building. Various body parts were found mailed to different parts of the country and in a Montreal park.

Luka Rocco Magnotta has pleaded not guilty to several charges in connection with Lin’s death, including a count of first-degree murder.

Any sympathy on Thursday was mixed with a healthy dose of grief and sadness as Lin’s family said their final farewells. They decided to bury their son’s remains in the land he loved and in the city he loved most.

In an emotional 30-minute ceremony, Lin’s father sobbed openly as he sat in the front row. Before the ceremony began, he entered the chamber and clutched his son’s urn, crying uncontrollably.

Father Henry Rodriguez, who presided over the funeral, called Lin a loving and considerate son who loved life. His life was ended by an “evil act.”

“We need to take this opportunity to turn this horrible situation into something positive that brings justice and peace back to this family and to society,” Rodriguez said.

“We cannot lose our faith and trust in human beings.”

Du looked back fondly on the day her son left China.

“When he left China and came to Canada to study, he wanted us to say goodbye with our smiles,” she said. “And today, I think it’s time to wipe our tears and see our son go with smiles on our face.”

She said it was “very difficult” to say goodbye to him.

“But I have been waiting for this day to come, because my son can finally rest in peace in the land that he loves.”

The family says they hope to establish a charity foundation in Lin’s honour that will help young people in distress. Du said it’s a way for the family to give back.

“We have received a lot of help and care from the people here and we want to return something back to this society, to help the youth in need, to help them find their way back to a loving home,” she said.

“Jun Lin has lived a short life, but I think his spirit can continue through this way.”

Lin’s family say they will stay in Montreal and attend court dates next spring, when Magnotta is scheduled to have a preliminary hearing.

A public memorial organized by the Montreal Chinese Alliance Church was held for Lin last Saturday. Various groups are helping to raise money to help Lin’s family stay in Montreal for the duration of the trial.

Concordia University, where Lin studied, has raised money for an award in his name. The university has raised $70,000 thus far.

As you can see, Jun Lin’s mother now (after learning more about Luka’s life) has sympathy for the man she originally only saw as the “devil”. This says a lot really. It was her son who was murdered and even she can see there’s another side to this. I can only hope that letting go of some of her anger will help in healing even a little bit of her pain.

May you rest in peace, Jun Lin.

Now, as mentioned in the title of this post, if the victim’s own mother can feel sympathy for her son’s killer, why can’t everyone? I have maintained all along that there is nothing inherently “wrong” with my sympathizing with Luka. I do not condone killing. But I can’t help but feel for Luka and everything he’s been through in his life. I do not for one second think his upbringing justifies his actions though, far from it, but it does give us a little window into possible reasons why. I think feeling sympathy for someone like Luka allows us to look at the mind of killer in a more thorough way without the veil of hate. I have never been able to do this with any other killer; frankly they just puzzle me because I can’t see beyond the veil. I’m thankful that I’ve been able to see Luka through sympathetic eyes. All the haters just can’t understand until they let go of the hate, as Jun Lin’s mother has now started to do. Certainly if Jun Lin’s mother has begun to sympathize anyone else can too…and if you can’t, well, stop reading my blog already!!

I also think it’s great that the Lin family has set up a fund to help children in distress. Hopefully this will help prevent at least one future tragedy of this nature!

Luka deserves sympathy and support as a fellow human being. <3

From → Luka Obsession

18 Comments
  1. awesome lex, shows our group wasnt full of maniacs, just dug deeper than the ones who judged

  2. another great blog Lexa….i hope many others can be so open-minded.

  3. Kayden permalink

    What an amazing woman she must be. Rest In Peace Jun Lin.

  4. Bart permalink

    I am very certain that Jun Lins mother understands much more than she would tell. What I don’t understand is how a father comes to his sons funeral in canvas and a polo shirt. I understand the asians have a different dress code, but that is not what it should be.

    • Bart I really don’t think we should be judging this man for what he wears to his son’s funeral!

    • anouk permalink

      Omg, Bart, your statement about Jun Lins dad was the most ridiculous thing I heard in years!! Seriously?! I just couldnt help but comment.

    • not all asians dress that way, you know . .

  5. Markus permalink

    I also think this is amazing and wonderful that Jun Lin’ s mother is able to show sympathy for Luka and tries to understand the reasons why. It really gave me such a great feeling of hope for Luka and even for humanity itself. I didn’ t expect this to happen so soon. I am very thankful for her words and appreciate their set up fund for children in distress very much. She is giving such a good example for all the haters, who are not able to understand that something like a “born villain”, a person born evil, doesn’ t exist and that it’ s so important to always ask why somebody acts the way he or she does, in every situation, by the way. What shocked me was when I read an opinion poll in some Canadian online newspaper in connection to the Luka case a few days ago. The question was “Are there people who are born evil?” and 65 % of the readers answered yes. I couldn’ t believe it. Of course there aren’ t any people born evil. I just hope Luka’ s jury will be made up of the other 35 %, who believe that life’ s circumstances lead to our actions and that they will try to understand him as even Jun Lin’ s mother does.

  6. Lyra permalink

    RIP Jun Lin, a sad loss to the world. The papers always refer to Jun Lin as Luka’s lover but I don’t think he was. If you look at the map of where Luka lived and where Jun Lin worked in a shop it’s very close so they probably met there.

    So sad that such an attractive, sweet, innocent young man has been brutally murdered. I hope/wish it wasn’t Luka that did this. If he did and gets found guilty I wonder if he’ll show any remorse?

  7. anouk permalink

    Hey Lexa, I was stalking your blog again this evening and sort of noticed on the right corner your quote referring to him as a “monster”. It kind of made me think for a second what he would think of it if he saw it. I mean are we calling him a “monster” just to satisfy societys need to hear it or you think that he is indeed a monster. I m just sort of confused if he is being viewed by this group as someone who was victimized and needs the understanding and support or….?
    I mean if I had done something horrific and I had a bunch of people supporting me I surely wouldnt want them referring to me as “monster”.
    The message becomes confusing, doesnt it?
    Of course I wouldnt expect to hear what a wonderful angel I am, but surely monster wouldnt sit well with me.

  8. anouk permalink

    Hey Lexa, I was stalking your blog again this evening and sort of noticed on the right corner your quote referring to him as a “monster”. It kind of made me think for a second what he would think of it if he saw it. I mean are we calling him a “monster” just to satisfy societys need to hear it or you think that he is indeed a monster. I m just sort of confused if he is being viewed by this group as someone who was victimized and needs the understanding and support or….?
    I mean if I had done something horrific and I had a bunch of people supporting me I surely wouldnt want them referring to me as “monster”.
    The message becomes confusing, doesnt it?
    Of course I wouldnt expect to hear what a wonderful angel I am, but surely “monster” wouldnt sit well with me.

  9. Nobody can tell about a family. If Jun Lin’s mother can have compassion towards the killer of her son, good for her. May his memory be eternal. Can Magnotta be forgiven for the degradation he put a human being through? Publicizing his killing online! Honestly, having compassion towards this thriller killer does not mean that there is any justification about his acts!

    • I agree fully! It is not justifiable no matter what he’s been through!

      • anouk permalink

        I guess Lexa you thought my message was not intelligent enough to be on your blog, which is ok with me. Its your blog after all and you do what you please. I didnt mean to interfere with your thoughts, I just figured that when people create these kind of blogs constructive “criticism” will encourage discussion and new ideas. Thats all!

  10. To Err is human,to forgive Divine !!! Knowing Luka’s past is helping Jun’s mom, get through her ordeal. It gives her an answer to the WHY question. Knowing that Luka isnt wrapped to tight and that he came from a very dysfunctional background is softening the blow.Lexa I’m not sure how long you plan on running this blog. But I do have one request. You celebrated Lukas birthday. Please do the same for Jun Lin. I look at pictures of this young man and all I see is someone full of life,I wonder what his personality was like. From the video footage of him singing karaoke and the photos.He seemed like the kind of guy who had no worries or cares at all.I feel like he was the kind of guy who was always smiling and had a lot of friends.As I stated earlier MY HEART GOES OUT TO ALL THOSE WHOSE LIVES WERE TOUCHED BY THIS BEAUTIFUL MAN. Now knowing that his Parents made the decision to bury him in his Beloved Canada. I Pray that he is at PEACE for etenity.

  11. J Warrior permalink

    Jun Lin’s mother will be going through the stages of grief and therefore her mind may change, and then change again, as she tries to deal with the terrible situation, the loss/murder of her child. Obviously I cannot say exactly what she will be feeling, I don’t know, but one of the stages is ‘denial’ and follows the initial shock and disbelief.

    • fuzzken permalink

      Exactly what I thought. The whole “sympathy” thing is her best coping mechanism at this point. People can learn to forgive. Can Luka feel remorse? Ever notice how when people have loved ones that have been missing for a year or two… and never been found… The families that most often say they they BELIEVE their loved one is still alive; is a coping mechanism some call hope, denial, and even faith. What I think is most horrible about this situation is this: think about all the friends and family that Jun Lin might have that KNOW that is murder and mutilation is FOREVER available for anyone to see; now and years from now. To know my sons murder was video taped and is online. To be able to speak to people that have viewed my my sons horrific death would turn me into a hermit. Its such a rotten reality. But its the reality of the day and age we are in.

  12. January permalink

    I believe many of us tried to disconnect from the human aspect of the video. JL was such a beautiful human being from such an amazing family that it prevented us from doing so. We had to find empathy for Luka as well as sympathy for JL and his beautiful family. Knowing what I know now, Luka couldn’t have hurt a more beautiful person/family. Perhaps that was his intent? Perhaps that functionality and happiness crushed him?If it was random he could not have made a bigger mistake/done more damage. I can only hope that knowing what he knows now that he feels pain and remorse. I think he is screwed – IDK what his intent was – but he will never leave prison. It’s heartbreaking from every angle. I wish he had more support and resources and had done things entirely differently…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

